MEMBER
  MEMBER
SEARCH
NHL INJURIES    SCHEDULE    STATS
F (OT)
5
4
MAY 25, 2022 G A PTS
NATHAN MACKINNON
3 1 4
NICK LEDDY
- 3 3
ROBERT THOMAS
2 - 2
VLADIMIR TARASENKO
1 1 2
PAVEL BUCHNEVICH
- 2 2
BOWEN BYRAM
- 2 2
TYLER BOZAK
1 - 1
JORDAN KYROU
1 - 1
GABRIEL LANDESKOG
1 - 1
IVAN BARBASHEV
- 1 1
JUSTIN FAULK
- 1 1
ARTTURI LEHKONEN
- 1 1
CALE MAKAR
- 1 1
MIKKO RANTANEN
- 1 1
BRAYDEN SCHENN
- 1 1
DEVON TOEWS
- 1 1
ALEXEY TOROPCHENKO
- 1 1
NICOLAS AUBE-KUBEL
- - -
ROBERT BORTUZZO
- - -
ANDREW COGLIANO
- - -
Bieksa breaks Trouba's Crosby; doesn't believe suspension warranted

BIEKSA BREAKS DOWN TROUBA'S HIT ON CROSBY; DOESN'T BELIEVE A SUSPENSION IS WARRANTED

MAY 12, 2022  (8H29)      TIM TUCKER
The Pittsburgh Penguins not only lost game five of their opening round series against the New York Rangers, they also lost star Sidney Crosby after a hit by Jacob Trouba. Around midway through the second period of the game, Crosby had the puck in the offensive zone when Trouba nailed him with a hard hit. It appeared Trouba's arm or elbow caught Crosby in the face. There was no call on the play. Crosby was able to skate off on his own, but left the game and didn't return.


As soon as the hit happened, hockey Twitter went nuts wondering why there was no penalty and whether a suspension would be coming. Former player and Hockey Night in Canada analyst Kevin Bieksa doesn't think Trouba should be punished.

"Unfortunately, this play will be judged based on that it's Sidney Crosby," said Bieksa. "And nobody, including us and the league, nobody wants him out."

"But, I think if you're throwing a head shot, if you're throwing it with your stick hand, it's impossible," Bieksa continued. "It would be with the other hand for Trouba. He's going stick on puck like you showed and then it just a bit of a, bring his arm in as Crosby's turning. I think there's no suspension."

Fellow analyst Elliotte Friedman agreed that he didn't think there was any intent with the hit. He believes it was just a weird play where Crosby unfortunately gets hurt. He added that Crosby left on the bus with his teammates after the game.

Penguins coach Mike Sullivan disagrees with that, of course. Asked about the hit, all he would say was "Did you see the hit? You probably have the same opinion I do." In an update Thursday morning, Sullivan said Crosby was still being evaluated, but had an "upper-body injury."

SHOULD TROUBA BE SUSPENDED FOR THIS HIT ON CROSBY?
MAY 12      254 ANSWERS
YES, IT WAS DIRTY7830.7 %
NO, THERE WAS NO INTENT. JUST A FREAK ACCIDENT16163.4 %
A FINE IS THE RIGHT PUNISHMENT155.9 %
  LIST OF POLLS